I Could Write You A Poem, But I’m Not That Type of Girl

I could ask you if you’re tired
From running through my mind
Or say your lips look lonely
And that they should meet mine
I could pretend to need a band-aid
For my scraped knee from falling for you
I could invent a hypothetical garden
Where I’d put your tulips next to my two
I could call you an alien
Because you abducted my heart
Or accuse you of being a thief
For stealing the very same part
I could pretend to be a librarian
For an excuse to check you out
I could do any of these things
But that’s not what I’m all about
I could tell you that you’re perfect
That you must be Mr. Right
I could even write you a poem,
But I’m really just not the type.

6 responses to “I Could Write You A Poem, But I’m Not That Type of Girl

  1. I like most of these metaphors- the librarian one seems to run a bit cliche for me, but I really like the “Where I’d put your tulips next to my two”… tu .. lips.. that’s good/funny because it kind of makes me think of spanglish in an odd way, and also.. two lips. Cool!

  2. I like this poem a lot. Its short and witty, and reminds me very much of Sara Bareilles’ “Love Song,” which is an enjoyable quality. This poem, although short, has a lot of personality to it, even while using cliches. To me, it came across as a little cheeky, which I think is great. Nice work!

Feedback, comments, or concerns?

