Love Story (Version 2.0)

We believed it a chapter of destruction.
But oddly enough,
It’s the base of your entire book.
No plot, climax, or resolution,
Just a sick circle of absolute conflict.

Why not throw away the two young heroines,
Rip out the pages about them?
This seems to be a motif for you.
Playing house with the villain and lying the whole time.
Now that makes for a good love story.

We’d gladly watch him drive you mad, if the setting excluded us.
But alas, you made us unwilling scapegoats
Who suffer the consequences of your childish decisions.
Dealing with the plagues of his sadistic mind,
The way they seeped into yours like an infection.

Choosing between us and him,
But always choosing wrong.
You want to feel young; you love him.
You must think you’re living in a romance novel.
Besides, your story is “none of our business.”

But everyone’s read your idea of a fairy tale;
Gossip has made it a bestseller.
Endless betrayal and social humiliation.
We gave you countless chances because we had no other choice.
It’s quite satirical that you even had kids.

Lucky for you and lucky for her,
Your youngest is able to forgive.
But me – I lost all respect for you on the first page,
In the prologue, even.
And the tale doesn’t seem to have an end.

3 responses to “Love Story (Version 2.0)

  1. Having read the original, I’d have to say that I like this version as well, and its still just as beautiful of a poem. Maybe its because I’ve had more time to ruminate on the story behind the poem, but I think this version is a little less vague than the last version – I’m not sure whether that’s something you wish for the poem or something that simply happened. I personally preferred it with a vague, mysterious, almost unfinished-in-a-good-way quality. But, that’s just my personal opinion. its still a beautiful poem and I really enjoy it.

  2. I love this. I can’t describe how much I enjoy reading your poetry. It evokes so much emotion, speaks of things I have never experienced, yet makes me feel like I have been feeling this my whole life. Brilliant, really.

  3. This poem is so beautiful. Your choices of words are so descriptive and vivid it evokes such real emotion in the reader. For example”
    “We’d gladly watch him drive you mad, if the setting excluded us
    But alas, you made us unwilling scapegoats
    Who suffer the consequences of your childish decisions.
    Dealing with the plagues of his sadistic mind,
    The way they seeped into yours like an infection.”
    You are not just telling the reader what to feel and what to think, you are showing the reader. Well done!

Feedback, comments, or concerns?

