Authors to read.

I’ve recently gotten really into reading novels and series by independent authors or those who are not very famous – they’ve produced some of the best stories I’ve read. I greatly respect those who self-publish, and it’s something I’m strongly considering doing one day. So I wanted to create this page in appreciation of some of the great novels I’ve read that you may not have ever heard of.


THE FROST CHRONICLES by Kate Avery Ellison

frost chronicles banner

I’ve written and posted brief but enthusiastic reviews for both Frost and Thorns and have since finished this wonderful series. Below is the author’s own synopsis for the first book:

In the icy, monster-plagued world of the Frost, one wrong move and a person could end up dead—and Lia Weaver knows this better than anyone. After monsters kill her parents, she must keep the family farm running despite the freezing cold and threat of monster attacks or risk losing her siblings to reassignment by the village Elders. With dangers on all sides and failure just one wrong step away, she can’t afford to let her emotions lead her astray. So when her sister finds a fugitive bleeding to death in the forest—a young stranger named Gabe—Lia surprises herself and does the unthinkable.

She saves his life.

Giving shelter to the fugitive could get her in trouble. The Elders have always described the advanced society of people beyond the Frost, the “Farthers,” as ruthless and cruel. But Lia is startled to find that Gabe is empathetic and intelligent…and handsome. She might even be falling in love with him.

But time is running out. The monsters from the forest circle the farm at night. The village leader is starting to ask questions. Farther soldiers are searching for Gabe. Lia must locate a secret organization called the Thorns to help Gabe escape to safety, but every move she makes puts her in more danger.

Is compassion—and love—worth the risk?

I loved losing myself within this world of Ellison’s creation, and I’m sure you will appreciate this series as well. You can read more and find links to purchase these books at Ellison’s blog:



Of Sea and Stoneby sun and saltwaterWith Tide and TempestFor Wreck and Remnant






Ellison’s second series, Secrets of Itlantis, is inspired by the legend of Atlantis, the lost and underwater city. There are four books to the series so far, and number five is currently being written. Ellison’s summary for the first book is below:

When a ship emerges from the ocean and men burn her village, Aemi is captured and enslaved below the waves in Itlantis, a world filled with ancient cities of glass and metal, floating gardens, and wondrous devices that seem to work magic.

Desperate to be free, Aemi plots her escape. But the sea holds more secrets than she realizes.

As is evident, I am a big fan of Kate Avery Ellison’s writing. I love her ideas – they make for unique and interesting stories – and she writes well, too. Again, you can read more about the Secrets of Itlantis series and purchase these novels at Ellison’s blog. The series page is here:



The Ghost and the GraveyardKick the CandleQueen of the HillMother May I






Genevieve Jack perfectly combines sexy and supernatural, and I absolutely adore this series. She does witch in a whole new way. And, the names of all the novels are based on childhood games – which quite cleverly tie into the story. The synopsis for the first book, The Ghost and the Graveyard, is below:

Grateful Knight isn’t looking for love when she moves into a rent-free house on the edge of a graveyard. At twenty-two, all she wants is to recover financially so she can move back to the city where she belongs. But sparks fly when the gorgeous cemetery caretaker, Rick, introduces himself and mentions his suspicion that her new house might be haunted. Her attraction to him seems supernatural, and despite her resolve to not get involved, she literally can’t keep her hands off him.

When things in Grateful’s house start moving on their own, another man enters her life, Logan, a sexy ghost with a dark secret. He says Rick isn’t what he seems, and indulging her passion for him could cost her soul. One thing’s for sure, magical forces are at work in the tiny town of Red Grove, and they’re converging on Grateful. Life will never be the same once she’s forced to choose between the ghost and the graveyard.

Jack’s novels can be purchased in a variety of formats – I read them in iBooks, but now I desperately wish to purchase physical copies at some point when I get the chance. For more about the series and to get the books:


Feedback, comments, or concerns?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s